Mike Peca a Blue Jacket

It’s official.

Decent pickup for the Jackets, assuming he can stay healthy (which has been a problem). He’s definitely an upgrade over Svitov in terms of hockey sense and leadership, if not in terms of offensive output any longer. Hopefully too he can eat up some ice time (especially on the PK) and take some of the pressure off Feds, who, barring some sort of major shakeup between now and next month, or some unforeseen stepping up by Brule, is still the presumptive #1 center. Playoffs are still a longshot, but the team’s a little better than it was last week at this time.

On that note, I need to decide whether or not to buy a Pick Six this season. I’ve done it the past two years, but with so few games selling out, it’s not like I need to buy tickets well in advance to most games. And honestly, I know enough season ticket holders that there’s almost always a way for me to get tickets. It just doesn’t feel worthwhile to pony up the cash this far in advance rather than just paying along the way as games come. Especially since, from what I can tell on the website, it’s more expensive this year. And I always wind up eating a game or two from the Pick Six due to my work schedule. Unless tickets are going to get a lot tougher this season — which hardly seems plausible, given that the team doesn’t look like it’s going to be all that much better than last season — I just don’t think it’s worth it. But the CBJ ticket office keeps calling me about it. And it feels a little disloyal not to do it. And there’s always the fact that if I have a ticket to a given game, I’ll usually go to it, but if I don’t have a ticket in advance, it’s easy to start feeling like watching from the couch with my Already-Been-Paid-For beer is more attractive after a day at work. So I’ll probably wind up going to fewer games if I don’t have six that I already have tickets for. Still…

Leave a Reply

