Gone for a few days

I’m going to miss the rest of the preseason for the Jackets, as I’m off tomorrow to scout potential NHL expansion sites. Okay, not really, but I am going to Kansas City. Then I’ll be back briefly to watch the Crew play the LA Galaxy, featuring David Beckham Edson Buddle (I’m also seeing them in KC, which is totally a coincidence). Then it’s off to Maryland for work related reasons. I’ll be back just in time for the home opener.

Which means I won’t get to see the denouement of Nik Zherdev’s cruddy camp, which has Portzline arguing he’ll be a healthy scratch when the season gets going. Plus ca change…

I’m also a bit bummed now that I see the Laurier Golden Hawks women’s team is scheduled to play an exhibition against Ohio State on Saturday, and I’m going to miss it. Laurier is one of the approximately three dozen universities I claim as my alma mater (I have a diploma and a leather jacket and everything). They came down to play OSU last season, and I was the only non-relative cheering on the Hawks. So if you live in Columbus and dislike OSU, or just like Canadians, or teams that wear purple, the Hawks could use your support. The game is at the OSU Ice Rink at 1PM, 9/29. Admission is free, which is free Canadian, now that the loonie is at par.

I am not taking my laptop on vacation with me, so I probably won’t post here in the next few days. I might drop a line from the BlackBerry if circumstances warrant. If not, see everyone back for the beginning of the regular season.

Go Hawks!

One response to “Gone for a few days

  1. David Beckham has now been sued by the same inmate who sued Michael Vick for 63 billion dollars.

    http://dreadnaught.wordpress.com/2007/09/25/jonathan-lee-riches%c2%a9-v-david-beckham-and-posh-spice/

    yojoe

Leave a Reply

