Jackets 3, Sens 2 (SO)

I’m getting to this one belatedly.

There was a time when this would have been the biggest and most nerve-wracking game of the year for me, as my loyalties were fairly evenly split between the Jackets and the Senators. As it stands, though, my interest in the Sens has dwindled to just about nil since I moved to Columbus. That’s right, the team that went to the finals last year is the one I stopped following; the one that’s never gone to the playoffs is the one I’ve decided to live and die by. Never said I wasn’t a masochist…

I watched chunks of this game. I’d had a meeting on the east side of town and run some errands after that, which led to my getting slowed down considerably by the snow that came in Thursday night. 45 minutes to get from Whitehall to Vic Village, ugh. I rolled in just about as the game was starting, then found out that I had to have something done for work by nine the next morning, so I missed a lot of the game while working on that. Came back for the end, though, and got to see Zherdev win it for Columbus. Which made me happy, with no mixed feelings whatsoever.

I’m not overly surprised the Jackets beat Ottawa. This has been their pattern for much of this season — lose to the teams they “should” be beating (like Toronto), then turn around and beat a team that “should” beat them. It’s all part of the growing pains.

I’m going to miss the game against Montreal tonight, as I’ll be attending the Elmira (CBJ affiliate!)-Cyclones game in Cincinnati. So with the trade deadline on Tuesday, I may be missing the last appearances in Columbus uniforms of any number of players. The next few days should be interesting, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

