On the reading list

I was relatively restrained in the purchase of books on my recent trip north of the border, not least because I was flying this time and had to be reasonable in what I could pack (this also contributed to my bringing ZERO alcohol back with me. Boo.). But as is my wont when I return to the land of my birth 1993-94, 1995-96, and 1997-2002, I did pick up a few hockey books, two of which even have a Jackets connection. They are:

  • Future Greats and Heartbreaks by Gare Joyce, which relies heavily upon access to the Blue Jackets’ scouting staff.
  • King of Russia by Dave King, the first-ever CBJ head coach, although the book is about his time coaching in Russia.
  • Cold-Cocked: On Hockey by Lorna Jackson, which looks to be the sort of book I’ll either love, or hate so much that it makes me angry. I’m hoping for the former, since it did cost $19.95 — in real money, not American pesos!

I haven’t started any of them yet, as I’ve been slogging through my remaindered copy of The Secret Mulroney Tapes for a week and a half now. But once I do get them read, I’ll report back if any are particularly worthwhile.

5 responses to “On the reading list

  1. I wish I would have known you bought the Cold-Cocked book, I got it for free from the publisher and probably could have gotten it for you too!!

  2. Ah, that’s okay. At least by buying the book, I can say I bought a book at the McNally-Robinson bookstore in Calgary before it went out of business (they announced it was closing the other day)

  3. Aw memories I suppose 🙂

  4. I just moved offices at work and am spending most of today sorting and cleaning out my accumulated junk in my old office, so I brought my iPod to listen while I work. I just listened to a CBC podcast where they interviewed Lorna Jackson about Cold-Cocked (And also Gare Joyce about Future Greats). Sounds pretty interesting.

  5. I haven’t had a chance to get through the first few pages, it’s okay I suppose…so far.

Leave a Reply

